Dear Moroccan women, I am sorry.

I know that I see things from the outside, that I grew up being considered more or less equal to men.

I know that I am lucky and that I don´t understand how you grew up.

I know that I had the chance to study, travel, be lazy and don´t care.

I know that what I have been through has nothing to do with what you have been through.

I know that my culture is free (more or less) and with much more possibilities.

I know that what I wear costs as much as what you earn is a month, and maybe more.

I know that even if I try being simple, I will never be as simple as you, because I am so damn spoiled.

I know that maybe I am not trying enough to understand how your life is.

The truth is that I don´t want to. I don´t want to become part of this patriarchal culture, because I feel bad in it.

I feel violated, I feel dirty, I feel useless, I feel empty and I feel inferior.

And no, I don´t even want to try anymore: I´ve had too many bad experiences.

So, yes. I am sorry. I am sorry that I can´t understand your culture.

And I am so sorry that you are the ones working hard, that you are the ones raising your children, cooking, keeping the house, the family and the garden going.

I am sorry.

Fekla Es-Soufla, Morocco 2015
Fekla Es-Soufla, Morocco 2015 @pandaonavespa
Aoufous, Morocco 2015
Aoufous, Morocco 2015 @pandaonavespa
Aoufous, Morocco 2015
Aoufous, Morocco 2015 @pandaonavespa
Jorf, Morocco 2015
Jorf, Morocco 2015 @pandaonavespa
Jorf, Morocco 2015
Jorf, Morocco 2015 @pandaonavespa

4 thoughts on “Dear Moroccan women, I am sorry

  1. What a pity, Arianna, that after only two months in Morocco you’ve already given up trying (and even wanting) to understand local women and their culture….

    Like

    1. I really don´t understand why here in the countryside they are treated like slaves. I don´t get it and I don´t accept being treated this way as well. I don´t accept that some men won´t shake my hand just because I was born with a uterus. I don´t accept that some men don´t even pour water into their glasses and ask women to that it for them. I don´t like it and I don´t accept it. And, I repeat, I don´t accepts being treated like crap just because biologically speaking I am different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

