I don’t consider myself as a traveler: I am an expat. I try to be in a place more than a month when I have to travel.

Don’t get me wrong: I love visiting new cities for a couple of days, but I also love living in a place and traveling around.

I have traveled a lot around Europe when I was a child, but everything changed for me in high school when I started studying in a binational program between Turin and Chambéry, in France. I really lived the local culture for a couple of weeks every year for the last three years of high school. And I decided that this is what I wanted to do.

Since then I have mostly been traveling around like this: summer school in Ireland, two years in Bordeaux, a month and a half internship in Argentina, quite a lot in Germany and three months internship in Madagascar. This way I can really say that I managed to get in touch with what life in those places really is: I became a temporary local. A short term expat.

This why when people ask me where I’ve lived, I say all the places in which I have been for more that a month, and where I wasn’t on holiday, but working or studying.

And I am really convinced that it’s a beautiful experience, that you really get to know a place, the culture and maybe a little the language!

Short term expat is a way of life, and it’s a way to be that I strongly recommend!

Leave a Reply

